Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Kuala Lumpur
Public Holidays

Kuala Lumpur Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 Kuala Lumpur public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

Kuala Lumpur is the capital of Malaysia. The CBD area is divide into several different districts with the main section known as the Golden Triangle. This section compromises Bukit Bintang, KLCC and Chinatown. Kuala Lumpur is best known by tourists for the Petaling Street flea market and the Petronas Twin Towers.

State-specific Public Holidays

Kuala Lumpur’s public holidays are mostly the same as other states and territories across Malaysia. However KL does celebrate a special holiday called Federal Territory Day along with only two other territories. Federal Territory Day in Kuala Lumpur celebrates the formation of the territory in 1974. Prior to that, Kuala Lumpur and the area now known as Putrajaya were under the state of Selangor.

Since Malaysia became independent in 1957, it had been ruled by what was known as the Alliance. In 1969, the Alliance lost its majority in Selangor resulting in major race riots in Kuala Lumpur. In an effort to end clashes between the federal and state government, Kuala Lumpur was separated from the state and placed under federal rule. It became the first federal territory of Malaysia in 1974. The holiday is celebrated on February 1 each year. If the date falls on a weekend, it is celebrated on Monday and it has sometimes been moved if it clashes with Chinese New Year.

There are many things to do and see in Kuala Lumpur. The Petronas Twin Towers, built in 1998, have 88 floors joined by a double-decker Sky Bridge offering breathtaking views of the city. A shopping mall sits at the foot of the towers and KLCC Park is just a short walk away. KLCC Park offers jogging tracks, walking paths and a wading pool for children. KL Tower in the Bukit Nanas Forest Reserve is an architectural marker standing 421 metres high offering spectacular views of the city.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
28 JanSatChinese New Year
29 JanSunChinese New Year
2nd Day
30 JanMonChinese New Year
Additional Holiday
1 FebWedFederal Territory Day
9 FebThuThaipusam *
1 MayMonLabour Day
10 MayWedWesak Day
3 JunSatAgong's Birthday
12 JunMonNuzul Al-Quran
25 JunSunHari Raya Aidilfitri *
26 JunMonHari Raya Aidilfitri
2nd Day *
27 JunTueHari Raya Aidilfitri
Holiday *
31 AugThuNational Day /
Merdeka Day
1 SepFriHari Raya Haji *
16 SepSatMalaysia Day
22 SepFriAwal Muharram
18 OctWedDeepavali *
1 DecFriProphet Muhammad's Birthday
25 DecMonChristmas