Start Planning

Labuan Public Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Labuan and start planning to make the most of your time off.

Labuan’s public holidays are mostly the same as other states and territories across Malaysia. However the island does celebrate a special holiday called Federal Territory Day along with only two other territories.

Federal Territory Day is celebrated on February 1 each year in Labuan. The holiday celebrates the date when Labuan became the second federal territory in Malaysia in 1984, following Kuala Lumpur, the first federal territory. Government offices are closed on this day although some businesses remain open. If the holiday falls on a weekend, it may be celebrated on Monday.

Another holiday that’s celebrated only in Labuan and Sabah is the Harvest Festival, known as Pesta Ka’amatan, celebrated on the 30th and 31st of May each year. It is closely connected to the cultivation of rice, marking the end of the planting cycle. Farmers give thanks to the spirits for providing them with a good harvest and ask them to bless the harvest for the following year.

Previous Years