Start Planning
Installation Anniversary of Sultan of Terengganu

Installation Anniversary of Sultan of Terengganu 2025, 2026 and 2027

On 4th March 1999, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin was installed as the 17th Sultan of Terengganu.

20254 MarTueInstallation of Sultan Terengganu Terengganu
20264 MarWedInstallation of Sultan Terengganu Terengganu
20274 MarThuInstallation of Sultan Terengganu Terengganu
Please scroll down to end of page for previous years' dates.

Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin’s ascension to the throne occurred nearly one year earlier, on the 15th May 1998, after the passing of his father Mahmud al-Muktafi Billah Shah. Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin was Yang di-Pertuan Agong (Monarch King) before his installation as Sultan of Terrengganu.

The 4th March anniversary of His Royal Highness’ installation is marked annually by a public holiday for the people of Terengganu. The anniversary is also marked by various public celebrations and activities.

Terengganu is the only state of Malaysia to mark the installation of its monarch with a public holiday.

The Sultanate of Terengganu was formed in 1725 with Tun Zainal Abidin, the younger brother of the Sultan of Johor, being the first monarch. Since that time, a total of 17 Sultans have held the throne.

Previous Years

20244 MarMonInstallation of Sultan Terengganu Terengganu
20234 MarSatInstallation of Sultan Terengganu Terengganu
5 MarSunInstallation of Sultan Terengganu Holiday Terengganu