Start Planning

Malaysia Public Holidays 2018

This page contains a national calendar of all 2018 public holidays for Malaysia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates. Scroll down to view the national list or choose your state’s calendar.

Date Day Holiday States
1 Jan Mon New Year's Day National except Johor,
Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis
& Terengganu
14 Jan Sun YDPB Negeri Sembilan's Birthday Negeri Sembilan
15 Jan Mon YDPB Negeri Sembilan's Birthday Holiday Negeri Sembilan
21 Jan Sun Sultan of Kedah's Birthday Kedah
31 Jan Wed Thaipusam Johor, Kuala Lumpur,
Negeri Sembilan, Penang,
Perak, Putrajaya &
1 Feb Thu Federal Territory Day Kuala Lumpur, Labuan
& Putrajaya
16 Feb Fri Chinese New Year National
17 Feb Sat Chinese New Year Holiday National
18 Feb Sun Chinese New Year Holiday Johor, Kedah, Kelantan
& Terengganu
4 Mar Sun Installation of Sultan Terengganu Terengganu
23 Mar Fri Sultan of Johor's Birthday Johor
30 Mar Fri Good Friday Sabah & Sarawak
14 Apr Sat Israk and Mikraj Kedah, Negeri Sembilan
& Perlis
15 Apr Sun Declaration of Melaka as a Historical City Melaka
26 Apr Thu Sultan of Terengganu's Birthday Terengganu
1 May Tue Labour Day National
7 May Mon Hari Hol Pahang Pahang
9 May Wed General Election Day (GE14) National
10 May Thu Special Public Holiday (GE14) National except Sabah
& Sarawak
11 May Fri Special Public Holiday (GE14) National except Sabah
& Sarawak
13 May Sun Special Public Holiday (GE14) Johor, Kedah, Kelantan
& Terengganu
17 May Thu Awal Ramadan Johor, Kedah &
17 May Thu Special Public Holiday (GE14) Sarawak
18 May Fri Special Public Holiday (GE14) Sarawak
29 May Tue Wesak Day National
30 May Wed Harvest Festival Labuan & Sabah
31 May Thu Harvest Festival Holiday Labuan & Sabah
1 Jun Fri Hari Gawai Sarawak
2 Jun Sat Hari Gawai Holiday Sarawak
2 Jun Sat Nuzul Al-Quran National except Johor,
Kedah, Melaka, Negeri
Sembilan, Sabah &
3 Jun Sun Nuzul Al-Quran Holiday Kelantan & Terengganu
15 Jun Fri Hari Raya Aidilfitri National
16 Jun Sat Hari Raya Aidilfitri Holiday National
17 Jun Sun Hari Raya Aidilfitri Holiday Johor, Kedah, Kelantan
& Terengganu
7 Jul Sat Georgetown World Heritage City Day Penang
14 Jul Sat Penang Governor's Birthday Penang
17 Jul Tue Raja Perlis' Birthday Perlis
22 Jul Sun Sarawak Day Sarawak
23 Jul Mon Sarawak Day Holiday Sarawak
22 Aug Wed Hari Raya Haji National
23 Aug Thu Hari Raya Haji Holiday Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis
& Terengganu
31 Aug Fri Merdeka Day National
9 Sep Sun Agong's Birthday National
10 Sep Mon Agong's Birthday Holiday National except Johor,
Kedah, Kelantan &
11 Sep Tue Awal Muharram National
16 Sep Sun Malaysia Day National
17 Sep Mon Malaysia Day Holiday National except Johor,
Kedah, Kelantan &
6 Oct Sat Sabah Governor's Birthday Sabah
12 Oct Fri Melaka Governor's Birthday Melaka
13 Oct Sat Sarawak Governor's Birthday Sarawak
15 Oct Mon Hari Hol Almarhum Sultan Iskandar Johor
24 Oct Wed Sultan of Pahang's Birthday Pahang
29 Oct Mon Malaysia Cup Holiday Perak
2 Nov Fri Sultan of Perak's Birthday Perak
6 Nov Tue Deepavali National except Sarawak
11 Nov Sun Sultan of Kelantan's Birthday Kelantan
12 Nov Mon Sultan of Kelantan's Birthday Holiday Kelantan
20 Nov Tue Prophet Muhammad's Birthday National
11 Dec Tue Sultan of Selangor's Birthday Selangor
25 Dec Tue Christmas Day National
Visit for the original release.

Many of Malaysia’s public holidays are celebrated across the country, however each state and territory also has its own state-specific holidays.

Also, state and federal governments can announce additional dates at short notice if they choose – and have done so in the past for events such as the installation of a new king or the country winning gold at a sporting event.

The Malaysian Cabinet office normally releases an official list of public holidays for the next year about 6-months in advance. The list of public holidays below is therefore not yet official. Instead, these are the likely dates of public holidays based upon our best calculations.

Choose your state or territory

Johor Penang
Kedah Perak
Kelantan Perlis
Kuala Lumpur Putrajaya
Labuan Sabah
Melaka Sarawak
Negeri Sembilan Selangor
Pahang Terengganu